Brought from Lau village of Juuru parish, Harju County. The shop building with rather a conventional floor plan was constructed in 1914 by Jaan Meiberg, a distiller from Ingliste manor. Brought to the museum in 1999 and opened for visitors in 2012.
Shops started emerging here and there in rural settlements in the last quarter of the 19th century when country population’s demand for bought-in goods increased. By the beginning of the 20th century the network of village shops had been established. Apparently the shop was there in the tsarist era, and it certainly operated from 1925 to 1940, when the Soviet rule was established. The museum display refers to 1938, the period when Estonia’s economy flourished. Visitors can travel back in time here, buying goods characteristic of that time in history.More
Did you know?
- In the middle of the 19 century salt, iron, tobacco and herring would still be bought from the manor or through the inn-keeper; sewing supplies, books and other sundries were sold by travelling vendors.
- Lau shop had a nickname of “Dirt shop” as was located in a low spot that was constantly muddy.
- The shop also sold eggs, caraway, poultry etc. Pauline organised cooking workshops for local women, too.
- Commercial agents travelling around the country to advertise brand products played a certain part in the development of the choice of goods in the shop.
- In 1938–1939 the back room of Lau shop was rented out to a tailor’s family, and the kitchen was used by both families. It was the tailor who owned the first radio ever to appear in the village.
01.10.2018 - 28.02.2019 Saleslady's weekend radio hours in Lau Village Shop More about event